The End of the Experiment

Is #polyamory an ideal that none can attain…because it requires too much communication? This author explains how the relationship ended for him

stonehooper

Tonight my Ex and I, who were attempting a Polyamorous relationship, broke up. She broke up with me, but it was mutual in that I, too, knew it was for the best. No, it isn’t what I want.

Here is what I have taken away from my time with Poly:

  • It’s fucking hard.

Okay. So, yeah. It’s really hard. Why is that? The biggest part for me was in communication, which is supposed to be the core component in poly relationships. Communicate. Be open. Be honest. Form trusting relationships. Now, think about all of your current and past relationships and also your relationships with friends and family. In the heat of the moment, how many of those people can honestly and accurately discuss their emotions and be clear about their needs and their boundaries? Yep….. None of mine, either. And, importantly, neither can I.

Poly basically exists in a world…

View original post 308 more words

About dave94015

interested in alternative relationships, visual artist, erotic romance writer and reviewer of erotica, drug rehab clinic intern - mid 20's
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The End of the Experiment

  1. stonehooper says:

    Thanks for reblogging. I don’t believe that there is no such thing as too much communication in a relationship. There is, however, the reality that communication is difficult and your partner(s) may be at different points in their emotional awareness and ability to express themselves. Having experienced the little bit of polyamory that I have, I will say that it is noble in its ideals of truth, trust, communication, honesty, and openness. It is worth experiencing or at the very least, studying.

Leave a Reply

